Explore these 5 magnificent forts while visiting Andhra Pradesh

The flag of Telugu pride has been hosted by many extraordinary rulers. The rulers are not between us but their legacy is still intact with the monuments they have constructed. These are the best examples for us to study their achievements of the past and remind us of their glory. Let us explore the forts of Andhra Pradesh.

1. Bobbili Fort
This is the new fort as the old one was destroyed in the Bobbili war of 1757. The economy condition of the empire was improved by the lineage of the in the 19th century.

2. Vizianagaram Fort
This was built in the year 1713 by Vijaya Rama Raju, Raja of Vizianagaram. The site for the fort was suggested to the Rajas by a Muslim saint, Mahabub Valli, who was doing penance in that forest. The auspicious date chosen for the foundation laying ceremony corresponded, according to the Hindu calendar, to the year known as Vijaya on the tenth day of the Vijaya Dasami when the Dassara Festival is generally held in the country.

3. Chandragiri Fort
Built by Yadavaidus in 1000AD it was later captured by the Vijayanagara rulers in 1367. Krishnadevaraya was kept hidden in the fort until his coronation. It was the 4th capital of the Vijayanagar empire.

4. Kondapally Fort
Prolaya Vema Reddy of the Reddy dynasty built this fort in 1360 This fort has witnessed many Northern and Southern Indian rulers and even the British. Muhammadans were the ones who conquered it in 1541. Gajapati rulers of Orissa followed by Krishnadevaraya of the Vijayanagara empire and it eventually fell into the hands of Muslim rulers of the Qutubshahi dynasty in the 16th century.

5. Udaygiri Fort
Gajpathis were the ones who built this fort in the 14th century and they originally were from Orissa. Krishnadevraya attacked Udaygiri and fought bravely for 18 months to capture it and was success. After the fall of the Vijayanagara Empire, it was ruled by chieftains of Golconda. And later by Nawabs of Arcot.