IPL 2022: Check out which players were retained from the teams

Indian Premier League Mega auction came with a lot of surprises for all the fans. 2022 has not begun and fans are already excited for the new season. The IPL has decided to come up with two more teams, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, with retention over these two teams, are allowed to acquire three players from the remaining pool of players before the auction in January.


Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Virat Kohli for 15 crores, Glenn Maxwell for 11 crores, and Mohammed Siraj for 7 crores. Although Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell agreed to a pay cut to stay with RCB.

Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians retained 4 players in total. Rohit Sharma, who is their longest-serving captain for 16 crores, Jasprit Bumrah for 12 crores, Suryakumar Yadav for 8 crores and Kieron Pollard for 6 crores. The Blues have been the most successful franchise in the history of the tournament.

Kings XI Punjab retained just two players, Mayank Agarwal for 12 crores and Arshdeep Singh for 4 crores. Punjab has 72 crores left in their account.

Sunrisers Hyderabad retained Kane Williamson for 14 crores, Abdul Samad for 4 crores and Umran Malik for 4 crores too. SRH have also lifted the trophy in 2016 beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals.

Chennai Super Kings retained their Captain MS Dhoni for 12 crores, Ravindra Jadeja for 16 crores for his abilities with bat and bowl. They retained another all rounder, Moeen Alli for 8 crores and Ruturaj Gaikwad for 6 crores. CSK has just 48 crores in the bank now. CSK are themselves 4 time Champions. They are the reigning Champions.

Delhi Capital retained Rishabh Pant for 16 crores, Axar Patel for 9 crores, Prithvi Shaw for 7.5 crores and Anrich Nortje for 6.5 crores. Delhi capitals crashed out in the eliminator in the 2021 season.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained Andre Russell for 12 crores, Varun Chakaravarthy for 8 crores, Venkatesh Iyer for 8 crores and Sunil Narine for 6 crores. KKR did not retain their captain. KKR have won it two times in 2012 and 2014.

RR on the other hand let go Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, retaining Jos Buttler for 12 crores, Sanju Samson for 14 crores and Yashasvi Jaiswal for 4 crores.

With the players retained, The teams have started doing their homework so as to which player to play that would bring them the success in 2022.