Long weekends to plan your short trips in 2022

Mark your calendars so you don’t forget to take these trips.

We all want any extra time off throughout the week to get away from our busy lives. If that day off happens on a Friday or Monday, it’s even better because it implies a long weekend and maybe a quick road trip!

So, if you’re already planning your vacations, have a look at the list of long weekends in 2022 and start making plans.

January 14 (Thursday) to January 17 (Sunday): Pongal falls on January 14, and Makar Sankranti falls on January 15, both of which are limited holidays. Visit the lovely Kutch festival in the Rann of Kutch. If you haven’t already, Ahmedabad is a fantastic city to come to at this time of year.

January 26 (Wednesday) to January 30 (Sunday): Take advantage of the Republic Day weekend by taking days off before or after for a longer getaway. In the winter, go exploring in the hills.

February 26 (Saturday) to March 1 (Tuesday): Take a day off on February 28 and plan a vacation to Rajasthan to make the most of it. Make sure to bring some rose-based goods back with you! Another wonderful alternative is to attend the Goa Carnival, which will take place on these days.

April 14 (Thursday) to April 17 (Sunday): Baisakhi/Mahavir Jayanti/Ambedkar Jayanti falls on April 14, while Good Friday falls on April 15. Take advantage of these two days, as well as the weekend, to arrange a short journey. Furthermore, the weather will be moderate, making it ideal for a road trip to the highlands or a wildlife safari.

April 30 (Saturday) to May 3 (Tuesday): Because Eid-Ul-Fitr falls on May 3, most institutions will be closed. Take the Monday off and go hiking in the hills or visit a tea farm for some scented relaxation.

August 11 (Thursday) to August 15 (Monday): Plan a journey to the Andaman and Nicobar Islands with your family for the Raksha Bandhan and Independence Day weekends. If not, there are more daring choices such as paragliding in Bir-Billing or embarking on a hike somewhere in the hills.

August 31 (Wednesday) to September 4 (Sunday): Take Thursday and Friday off as the summer heat fades and Ganpati celebrations take the place of Ganesh Chaturthi. This is also an excellent time to visit Udaipur or Jaisalmer and marvel at India’s ancient splendor through its forts and palaces. If not, a trip to the beach will do the trick.

September 8 (Thursday) to September 11 (Sunday): Onam is a limited holiday that happens on September 8, so if you have the day off, take advantage of it by visiting Hampi and marveling at its architectural splendor. If you have a couple of extra days off, you may go to Puducherry and see Auroville.

October 1 (Saturday) to October 5 (Wednesday): Dussehra falls on October 5, whereas Ashtami and Navami fall on October 3 and 4, respectively. There’s no better way to spend this time in Kolkata than going pandal-hopping!

October 22 (Saturday) to October 26 (Wednesday): Take advantage of the Diwali holiday (October 24 – Diwali, October 25 – Govardhan Puja, and October 26 – Bhai Dooj) and fly to Varanasi to see the Diwali festivities. One of the longest weekends in 2022 is in October, so take advantage of at least one of them!

November 5 (Saturday) to November 8 (Tuesday): Guru Nanak Jayanti is on November 8, so if you have a day off, take advantage of the month’s only long weekend on November 7. Plan a vacation to Shillong to view India’s cherry blossom season in full bloom, or visit Amristar’s Golden Temple for blessings and a tour of the area.

December 30 (Friday) to January 1 (Sunday): Take the day off on December 30 to get a head start on the new year and make the most of the long weekend with a calm, peaceful start.