Pakistan Announced their Squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, Shaheen Afridi Returns!!

Pakistan on Thursday announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia which will be held from October 16 to November 13. In the 15-player World Cup squad, top-order batter Shan Masood has been included in the side for the shortest format for the first-time along with fast bowlers Mohammad Wasim Junior and Shaheen Shah Afridi, while Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani have been named as the three traveling reserves.

Wasim Junior has been included after recovering completely from the side strain he suffered during the Asia Cup while Afridi, who is undergoing rehabilitation for a knee injury in London and expected to resume bowling early next month, will join the squad in Brisbane on October 15.

Prior to their arrival in Brisbane on October 15, the World Cup-bound squad will feature in the T20I tri-series in Christchurch from October 7-14 where Bangladesh and New Zealand will be the other participating sides.