TATA IPL 2022: Here’s everything you need to know about who owns your favorite IPL team

The IPL season has officially begun, and fans can’t wait to see their favorite players bat and bowl. There are ten teams competing in the 2022 IPL, and here are some details on who owns your favorite team:

Delhi Capitals

Previously known as the Delhi Daredevils, the team is owned by two companies, JSW Group and GMR Group, each having a 50% stake. JSW Group works in industries such as steel and cement, while GMR Group has contributed to several infrastructure projects and has a global presence.


Punjab  Kings 

Preity Zinta, a well-known Bollywood actress, owns 23 percent of the team’s shares, but she is not the sole owner, as many people believe. The Wadia group, a multinational conglomerate, also owns 23 percent of the shares, while Dabur, a well-known consumer goods company in India, owns 46 percent. Finally, the Apeejay Group owns 8.0 percent.


Kolkata Knight Riders

This team is officially owned by two companies: Red Chilies Entertainment, which was founded by Bollywood heartthrob Shah Rukh Khan, and Mehta groups, whose owner Jay Mehta is the spouse of Juhi Chawla, and this company is active in fields such as packing sugar, engineering, and so on.


Gujarat Titans

CVC Capital Partners, a British private equity and investment advisory group, is the sole owner of this new addition, with Hardik Pandeya leading the squad for the first time in the IPL in 2022.


Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan royals is one of the original IPL teams, having been in the league since day one. Another well-known IPL celebrity is Shilpa Shetty, wife of the infamous Raj Kundra, who owns 11.1% of the shares under the name of Raj Kundra and family, with tresco international and emerging media owning 44.2 percent and 32.4 percent respectively, leaving the remaining 11.7 percent for blue water estate.


Sunrisers Hyderabad

This team was created in 2012 and began playing in 2013 with a top player, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has won the purple cap two years in a row. This team is completely owned by Sun TV Networks, with Kalinithi Maran as the franchise owner.


Lucknow Super Giants

Another new team for the 2022 IPL season, this one is owned 100 percent by the RPSG group, which previously controlled the Rising Pune Supergiant. The RPSG group was formed by Sanjiv Goenka and is involved in entertainment, power, and energy, among other things.


Chennai Super Kings

Super kings has the most shareholders, with Indian Cement owning 54.6 percent, followed by Sharda Logistics with 30.1 percent, LIC with 6.9 percent, Radhakishan Damani with 6%, and non promoter group with 2.4 percent. The best bet for its owners is the Chennai Super Kings, who have won the IPL four times, including the previous year.


Royal Challengers Bangalore

Despite being one of the most well-known IPL teams, they have never won the tournament. This team is another sole-owned franchise, with United Spirits Ltd as the sole owner. RCB is known for having stars such as Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle in the past.


Mumbai Indians

Last but not least, the Mumbai Indians are the only team to have won the championship five times; this famous “Nita Ambani” team is owned 100 percent by reliance industries; legendary Sachin Tendulkar was a member of this team before retiring; the performance graph for this team is impressive, and both the owners and the team are well-liked by the audience.


With two new additions, reigning champions, and teams qualifying for the finals on a regular basis, predicting who will win the Trophy this year is difficult.