WPL 2023 Final:Mumbai Indians defeat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets and won the first title of WPL

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by a score of seven wickets in the WPL 2023 Championship Final on Sunday at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium. Nat Sciver-unbeaten Brunt’s half-century helped MI reach 134/3 in 19.3 overs or a target of 132 runs. Sciver-Brunt put on an unbroken performance, scoring 60 runs off 55 balls while hitting seven fours. The captain, Harmanpreet Kaur, played crucial 37-off-39-ball innings with five fours during this period. Jess Jonassen and Radha Yadav each secured a wicket for Delhi. DC first reached 131/9 in 20 overs thanks to Meg Lanning’s innings of 35 runs off 29 balls, packed with five fours. But, the DC received no assistance, and a bizarre run-out cost her the game.

The tail-enders, Shikha Pandey and Radha put forth a strong last partnership to maintain their perfect record as the wickets began to fall. Shikha scored 27 runs, including three fours and a six, on just 17 balls. Nonetheless, Radha managed to hit 27 runs off just 12 deliveries, including two fours and two sixes. Hayley Matthews won the Purple Cap competition thanks to her three wickets, Amelia Kerr’s two dismissals, and Issy Wong’s three.